Edinburgh, a Scottish Land.

Hi there, here I am back again doing what I should be doing – write a post. Without further a do, I’m gonna quickly register my memory of Edinburgh right here before it is being erase from my puny brain. But that is hardly possible because Edinburgh like most cities I have visited in Europe, is amazing beyond words. No I am not exaggerating. Oh wait, my brain isn’t so puny after all if it can store this much… hmmm.

While in Edinburgh, Jos being Jos choose to do the healthy stuffs. I’ve learned from our many trips out, shopping should never be a priority when on holiday, because shopping anywhere is almost the same, speaks the man. Anyway, the healthy stuff refers to doing things that would burn enough fats so we can have a good dinner. Healthy or not? We decide.

There, you go. So naturally, while having holiday and in order to burn off fats, we have to walk, no, not just walk, we have to walk fast, a very long distance and if possible, we have to walk in a vertical motion. As such, we landed our feet on the ground of the Arthur’s Seat.

Arthur’s Seat is situated in Holyrood Park. According to Wikipedia, this hill rises above the city to a height of 822 feet! I’ve only know the height of the hill after the climb and am really proud I make it to the top! The journey to walk up this hill wasn’t easy. This was mainly because the fateful day the wind was Β gusting so strong I could feel myself feeling unstable while walking on really really steep path. No, I am not exaggerating! I had to cling on to Jos for support at some point or I’d fall or even blown away! And because it was such steep hill, I had to rest at some point to catch a breather. Man, I feel old #1. Anyway, we made it.

This is us at the TOP!

Us at the TOP!

View are always beautiful when you are at the top of anything; mountain or hill. We really enjoyed the view from the top and quite honestly I didn’t regret doing it despite the amount of energy it takes to get up there. I would do it again! While on top, we saw a group of elderly dressing up really professionally for the climb. They have proper shoes, proper backpack and proper sticks and they don’t look a tiny bit of being tired and I don’t see them panting at all! Man, I feel old #2.Β 

Picture 007

A picture of the Arthur’s Seat while walking down.

We spend a good half hour on top taking pictures, “enjoying” the gusting strong wind and slowly make our way down. Walking downwards was a breeze, so much easier and alot more fun! πŸ™‚ Now I can proudly say…. Hey, I’ve climbed a … HILL! πŸ˜€

The other place we’ve visited was the well know Camera Obscura and World of Illusions. A very interesting place of illusion art and deliberately getting ourselves obscured. Here are a few exhibits I find fun sharing.

It’s always good to feel tall and big, if you ever feel like a shorty all the time (like I do), just go on to this place to make yourself feel taller for a good 5 minute, oh and don’t forget to take some good pictures like I did to proof it!

Look who is bigger?!

Look who is bigger?!

Note to the above picture: In real, Jos is 1.85m and I’m 1.58m, now look how much I’ve grown! That feeling is great, just great! πŸ™‚

Next, I’ve posted two pictures below, but note that they are actually the same piece of art taken from a different angle.

Picture 001

Picture 002

I hope you see the difference. Maybe it is more obvious with the actual art, not so much when it is taken by a camera.

Another one I’d like to share is the picture below that has a caption that says, Before & After Marriage… do you know why?

This picture has a caption that says "Before & After Marriage" Do you know why?

This is obviously Before Marriage!

All you need to do is turn it around with the knob at the bottom and you will know what happen after marriage.

There are many many more fun in there. We even went through a mini mirror maze and by mini, I really meant mini mini of the mini. We came out in a minute without much fuss. But still it was fun. Another bridge that makes one feels like falling while crossing it. Remember this : Illusions Illusions… it’s only an illusion! And you will survive.

Right before the exit, we were invited to be married by a machine. Considering it will only cost us 1 pound and we get two rings and a certificate in return, we decided to advance our marriage plans! Oh and they even provide head veil and a hat so we look better, we need that really. And the best thing is… they also accept Gay Marriage! Wonderful! But of course, you can also choose to press 2 to escape from the marriage. πŸ™‚

We are married! Now we can forget about the real one... :)

We are married! Now we can forget about the real one… πŸ™‚

So that is just some things we did while in Edinburgh. We also visited the Edinburgh Castle! Majestic and amazing! But that is for another day.

I don’t want to hastily stop but I have to. You see, I’m back in Singapore and am rushing out to do city stuff. So much for now. By the way, Happy New Year to all readers! Quite honestly, I cannot wait for 2013 to end! I’m so done with it!

Have fun peeps! Ciaoz..

2 thoughts on “Edinburgh, a Scottish Land.

Leave a Reply

