A Surprise in A Surprise

The memory I have of Prague is still vivid. I guess I should pen it down now before the memory wipes out from my puny brain.

Prague is well known for being one of the most romantic city in the world. Walking along Charles Bridge; watching the painters working on their art pieces & couples taking their walk across the bridge surely lights up that romantic atmosphere. Besides, I’m also really enchanted by the way they immaculately preserve it’s ancient beautiful architectures.

On the 2nd day of our trip, we chanced upon a small lovers lock bridge. I remember the last I saw these lock bridge was in Amsterdam, a really small one, like only a few locks. And prior to that, I’ve seen them in Paris and Venice. All these time was with Jos and every time I’m fascinated by the way the lock entangles upon one another. I would always takes tons of pictures. It’s just so nice to see! 🙂

Lover Locks.

Lover Locks Bridge – Prague.

Other than knowing these lock bridge are lovers that lock their love. I’ve no other clue how this is suppose to be.

The other amazing thing I really love is their “Escalator of Death”! Because it is so steep and long, It might send shivers to the weak hearted! 🙂

Escalator of Death!

Escalator of Death!

Oh, and I really love their Sugar Roll especially when it’s baked fresh and piping hot, it is delicious! You have to try them because it is oh so good!

Sugar Roll

Sugar Roll.

I know all of those above doesn’t sound convincing enough to be the surprise I was talking about right? Yes, because those aren’t surprising enough!

On the last day of trip. We woke up, have quick breakfast, run back up and started packing. Yes, we are the last minute sort of person. We like to run after time 🙂 After that, we went off to walk around town to grab one last look and then went back in time to checked out of the hotel but leaving our luggage with the concierge because our flights only leaves at 930pm. So that give us another full day to enjoy the city of Prague again.

Since it is the last few hours in Prague, we had to go back to the place we both love most…. which is none other than the PETHRIN HILL! We bought some food and drinks from the mall to bring along and took a tram giving our sore feet a little rest. I don’t know why but for some reason, the tram ride seems to take like forever. And when we arrive, the queue seems to take forever too! Strange indeed….

Anyway, we survived the wait. Jos was exceptionally happy that day. I recalled he was smiling alot. When we found our spot at the hill, I quickly take my seat on the soft grass and when I turn around, I saw Jos face beaming, kneeling with a ring in his hand. He said “I don’t know when, I don’t know how but will you marry me?”

The first reaction from me was : “Are you joking?” And he looked at me smiling and said “Of course not!” And then the rest I remembered was I kept crying & crying.

Now, allow me to rewind to the past, although past are not to be reprimanded but I need to clear your doubts about why I would cry.

THE PAST

In year 2011, while we were still dating in a long distance relationship, Jos send me a image like this over whatsapp :

Marry me Jess

Ok, now this is very embarassing but I will say it anyway. When I received it, I was almost in tears and ask if he was joking. And because he was busy at work, he did not reply my message. So I assume it was for real! The first thing I did was I send to my BFF and said Jos sent this to me. To cut the long story short, it was indeed a joke. I was so damn upset with him, I feel like I could slaughter him! Well, I didn’t of course. He apologized and that was that.

Over the years while we were dating, I would always tell him which of my friends are getting married and Jos would never get the hint. So I decide I should be direct. I asked him : SO we are not getting married? His answer was always consistent, “You will know when we will get married”. Okay, now I make myself sound so desperate! Although i am not an advocate for marriage, I do believe that is the only way to proof you want that person in your life for as long as you live. And no, I’m in no rush to marry but it just kills me he isn’t even thinking about it! I’m sure all ladies would agree. It’s just a girl thing.

THE END

Now, let’s fast forward to the day he kneel down. I don’t know how long I cried but seems long enough, with him still kneeling and staring at me in anticipation. He asked again: So is that a yes? How can I say no to a boy this sweet? And to top it off, he was the love of my life! I’m totally touched by what he did. Organizing a surprise trip for a proposal! I can still cry writing this down.  And on that day 30th May 13, I fell in love again with the same man. 🙂

The Ring & The Flowers.

The Ring & The Flowers.

And that was it. No wait, that wasn’t it. Next he took out a padlock which has air flown with us from Holland. I suppose you would all guess, we want our lock on that bridge in Prague! I didn’t know the rules before but now I do. We have to inscribed on with the dates and initials with the keys.There are two keys to the lock, we are suppose to throw each of our key in the water as a public statement of our ‘everlasting love’. And so we did.

Here is our LOCK.

Here is our LOCK.

Picture 463

And these are our keys!

This is like the most romantic thing ever that a guy would do for me! I’ve never had that but I have now.

And there we are, happily engaged to be married !

Thank you for reading! 🙂

Signing off, J

3 thoughts on “A Surprise in A Surprise

  1. Gefeliciteerd! So happy for you 🙂 That’s indeed a very sweet way to propose. And the lock is a great thing. We also did lock our padlock on a brigde, but in Krakow, Poland, where we met 🙂 We actually even have a picture in a newspaper of that event, isn’t it good timing? 😀

    Hugs,
    Justine

Leave a Reply

