One Man’s Meat is another Man’s Poison.

So I’m back again in the lowlands. I’ve spend a great short week back in Singapore enjoying the glorious food and magnificent company of my family and friends.

To many people, Chinese New Year  are about visiting relatives (some they don’t even see for years), collecting “ANG PAO” (Red Packet with money in it) from the elderly and married ones. So if you don’t want to be throwing money, refrain from getting married! I find it annoying when people stay unmarried like forever and still collecting Red Packets without shame. Last but not the least, people indulging themselves in gambling (Mahjong & Poker Cards) their wealth away.

Somehow, somewhere along the line, I’ve lost it. I do none of those during the period I was back for the season. I dislike visiting extended relatives that I hardly speak to for like forever. I know this sounds rude but why would I want to see someone that doesn’t know or care about my well being for the whole freaking year and only come together on a random Chinese new year to ask questions on your personal life? I prefer to spend time with my immediate family and close friends who cares about me every day of my life. So yes, visiting distant relatives feels fake to me. I’ve never like gambling so Chinese New Year shouldn’t be an excuse for anyone to gamble.  I don’t want to feel like I’ve lost my roots but somehow, Chinese New Year seems to have lost it’s meaning.

Collecting Red Packets!

No, this is not a rant post. I have to say, one thing I really love about Chinese New Year are the goodies I cannot stop eating. Although these goodies can now be found like any time of the year, eating them during Chinese New Year feels better. The truth is being in the Netherlands and not being able to enjoy all the food I love from Singapore has always been a pain for me. So, the Pineapple Tarts, the Bak Kwa (BBQ Pork), the Egg Rolls adds to the numbers that shows on my weighing scale just a minute ago. But no, I’m not telling you my weight.

Pineapple Tarts

Naturally, having tried, tested and tasted all the goodies, I want the Dutchman to also enjoy what I truly enjoy. I’ve tried to enjoy the boring Dutch Food, so I reckon he should enjoy the interesting Asian food without too much trying right?

So, the Roasted Pork and Pineapple tarts flew with me, like over 6500 miles… only to face a Dutchman sniffing them and says “Ewww” without even trying. Because I have too much pride about the food I like, I’ve insisted that he has to try ! Well, he did and give me a wrinkly facial expression. How bad can these food be? Really? For the record, I wasn’t trying to poison you… 🙂

I refuse to tag this under Ranting… because This is still not a rant post!! 😀

Bak Kwa – Source from Bee Cheng Hiang

Leave a Reply

