On The First Day Of Christmas, My True Love Gave to Me….

Limited Edition – Bike of the seasons.

No, that is not really what I got from Jos of course, but that was really one of the unusual things I have experience over the past 2 days.

We stay over in an apartment together with his parents for 1st and 2nd day of Christmas. And what he really gave me was a touristic view of a small part of Limburg (Mechelan) the most hilly part of the Netherlands. And to me, that was an awesome experience.

Limburg is about 2 hours drive from Dordrecht, it is also near to where the drielandenpunt is located. Drielandenpunt is the famous point where the three countries (Belgium, Netherlands & Germany) Meets. I’ve wanted so much to stand at that point at least once in my life time to be at 3 countries all at the same time, ok not literally but almost!

The day we were at drielandenpunt was rainy  no i should say it was even STORMY at that point. On the way to the drielandenpunt, Jos’ mum was mentioning that there is a little viewing tower there. As I listened in anticipation, she said: “And when we reach the top of the tower…. we can see… NOTHING.” I laughed out really loud because that was really the truth because it was already dark at 430pm. The storm didn’t help, we had to run out and back in to the car just to feel the need to be there. Just like, okay, I’ve been there and done that. well, done what? I quickly did my check in on facebook while the car drove away 🙂

Besides being at the drielanden punt, I’ve seen many unusual things there. One of it was a tree trying very hard to grow in a shape of a house, no bigger, no smaller. And succeeded! What triumph!

Witness a tree succeeding in growing according to the shape of a house.

And other things were like a cross like the one below. We can find them at every corner of every street. Some are huge, some are smaller and others are full of colors. This is because, this small village has a large community of Roman Catholics.

A Catholic Cross

A Catholic Cross

Since we are so near to Belgium, we also patronizes the very famous Mother Goose Inn in Belgium. I did not take any pictures because it was cold, dark, crowded and I was very hungry. The restaurant has a very nice ambiance but unfortunately, I cannot say they serve the most delicious food that day, but the service was really good for a very busy day.

Follow this link to visit their website… http://www.moederdegans.be/English_website.htm

That ends my 1st day of Christmas. I have a wonderful 1st day of Christmas and I cannot be thankful enough to experience Netherlands on the other end. And just for my happiness record, we still have the 2nd day! This is like the first time I celebrate Christmas extensively. In Singapore, we have holiday only on Christmas Day. Here in Holland, we have the 2nd day off too! Blessing number one! 🙂

To top it off, this is also the first year Jos and I celebrate Christmas and New Year together in the same country. For the past 3 years, we had to stream on Tango or Skype to see each other during festive seasons like these. Thank GOD we do not have to go through that trauma ever again! How blessed! 🙂

Our Christmas Tree at Home!

Merry Christmas everyone! I hope you have a blessed & peacful Christmas.

Lotsa Love,

Jess

Leave a Reply

