The Dragon landed on Bintan Island

I’ve been busy. Well, just holiday-ing with my dragon. If you read my previous post, you will know who I’m relating to when I speak of the Dragon. He is none other but the one guy that stole my heart. Currently, my heart isn’t with me but I’m glad I’m breathing and waiting to fly to the Netherlands.

Once the Dragon landed in Singapore Changi Airport, we both took a 45 minutes ride on the Bintan Resort Ferry to Bintan Island. It’s strange how I’ve never thought about visiting Bintan which is an island belonging to Indonesia even though it is so close to Singapore. However, when Jos trip to Singapore finalized, I’d decided we should make a trip to Bintan, since Singapore isn’t a place to stay for more than 3 days. Clearly, Singapore is all about Shopping and Eating and 3 days of that is quite enough I reckon. I don’t want to get a nice guy feeling claustrophobic being in Singapore. Too small for comfort!

The ferry ride isn’t pleasant for me as I get sea sick too fast too easily. Was grumpy the whole 45mins but was glad my companion keeps me busy with his silly actions to distract me. So yes, I survived. If you are interested, I have booked our ferry ride with Bintan Ferries Resort @ http://www.brf.com.sg

I’ve chose to stay in the Bintan Lagoon Resort because of the nice review I’ve read and heard. We arrived in Bintan at 930am and what worries us was not being able to checked in at the time we arrived since it was clearly stated that the check in time was 3pm. Surprisingly, we managed ! The receptionist allow us to check in earlier and not just that they were also friendly and polite. I really like the way they smile and greet in their best. It’s really nice to speak to people that are humble and nice.

First, we had problem getting into our room. After going back down to the reception and back, we managed. However, within 15 mins, we have 3 of their service staff knocking on our doors. 1st asked if we managed to get into our room. Another came in without notice to check on the mini-bar, but paused when he sense we are on our bed, and third one asked if we need extra towels! Amazing hospitality and kindness … positively, I think they are really helpful. Negatively, I wish they are helpful at the right time since we were dying to rest.

The Room

Without further a do, We put up the “DO NOT DISTURB” sign and took a very long nap. Jos just landed and I didn’t sleep a wink the night before because I was feeling all excited seeing Jos again after 2 months! So we nap a good 2 hrs and when we woke, straight to the pool. You know how it is like with the White man and the pool plus sunshine. They cannot wait to jump into the pool for a good deep  and lie flat on their chest for a good sun tanning.

The Pool

The Bintan Lagoon Beach

The Beach right in front of the resort.

The one plus point about Bintan Lagoon Resort is it has it’s own private beach front. They are currently building a ferry terminal that would arrive directly in front of the resort which will be ready in 2 months we heard. I think that is so awesome. If you should want to visit Bintan, do remember to choose one with a private beach front so you do not need to travel to visit the beach.

Beach Side Cafe - Nice Food, Nice Drink with Perfect View!

Wind Surfing Lesson

Cafe by the Beach @ Night.

We both enjoyed our stay very much. We even had massage by the beach. Was super relaxed, just doing nothing. Eat, sleep, walk, massage and enjoy the sea breeze.

At this moment while I’m writing this post, I’m really thinking about the cold winter in Holland. Finally, it has snowed and has hit a nice -15 degree ! I cannot wait to feel the snow once again…. it’s been too long. I love the sun but I’m dying to make snow balls! So please….. wait for me! 🙂

Snowing in the Netherlands

 

Leave a Reply

