Hare for Christmas… Shall we?

No, I’m not talking about a Christmas Gift, I’m really talking about having a hare feast on Christmas Day! Yes, Bunny, Rabbits, they are all from the Hare family!

I received a tweet today from a blogger I followed. She asked what would I be cooking for Christmas and also revealed some tips on cooking for a Christmas Dinner in the Netherlands. I cannot help but had to rub my eyes and read them three times when I came across the sentence: “Hare Pepper Spiced Stew”. I know, I’m a city girl. And the meat I eat aren’t pet, they are regular meat like chicken, duck, cow, goat and fish. Ok Fish can be kept as a pet but I only eat fish that are meant to be eaten. Not Gold-Fish.

I cannot get over the fact that the Dutchies has Hare as their Christmas delights. I’ve heard of people in China eating Dogs & Cats, Monkeys & Rabbits. Well, people in China eats everything…. including worms! Of which I cannot understand but it’s been popularly known, so nothing new. But Dutchies eats Hare just freaks me. And yes it is something new! To me at least…

Hare, Rabbit, Bunny, whatever you call them, they are commonly know as Rabbits of which I’ve learn that they are also commonly kept as pets in the Netherlands and now, I’m told, they aren’t just pet, they can be eaten too!

How can the cutest animals on earth be turn from this:

Cute! But wait... you will be eaten!

To This:

Hollandse Hazenpeper met Kruidkoek

Yes, we all know. No one is going to serve up with Mini Lop or Netherland Dwarfs. For cooking, I suppose they uses something from the wild, like this one:

Wild Hare... still cute.

While I was flying back to the Netherlands last month, I bought a little toy for Madelief from KLM inflight shop, and this little toy happen to be a popular bunny widely sold in the Netherlands – MIFFY!

Miffy

So, can you imagine a conversation between a mother and daughter that goes like this:

Daughter : Mummy! Mummy! What are we having for dinner tonight?

Mummy : We will have Hare Stew Sweetheart!

Daughter: What is contain in Hare Stew?

Mummy: Hare of course

Daughter : What is a hare?

Mummy: Just like Rabbits

Daughter: Like Miffy?

So can you imagine telling your daughter who is so in love with Miffy this: ” oh sweetie, we are having Miffy for dinner tonight! Sounded very wrong. :S

I know I am freaking out over something already common. Maybe one day I will get use to the idea of being in a country that eat Rabbits. Maybe it’s time bunny stop being cute and that is when it will be a popular delight worldwide.

Leave a Reply

