Chilling at the Beach

The feeling of being at the beach always gives me a good feel, I suppose anyone would agree. The sound of the ocean, the beauty of the clear blue sky and the space that allows you to enjoy the sea breeze. That to me is heaven. I’ve been dying to visit the beach in Holland because I’ve never been to one. Well, to me, beaches are only visit-able when the sun is out. Dressed in shorts , T-shirts and Flip Flops.  After today, I guess I was wrong.

Jos: Today, we are going to the beach!

Me : Oh nice! I’ve been waiting to go to one!
(In my mind I said : Isn’t it crazy to visit the beach in the cold? He’s just trying to hard to please me… too sweet)

Even while I got myself dress, I still cannot believe going to the beach in an attire like this. I think we are crazy! But anyway, we went!

The beach we went is at Wassenaar. The minute I step out of the car, I can already feel the atmosphere of being at the beach. It wasn’t really cold. The fresh air and space out scenery just gives it a perfect feel. There were already many cars parked where we did and that clearly tells me we are not the only crazy ones.

First, a nice lunch with a hot cuppa at Brasserie de Badmeester. For the record, Badmeester in dutch means Lifeguard, literally translated, it means – The Brewery Lifeguard! You might want to check out their website for more details : http://www.debadmeester.nl/

Brasserie de Badmeester aka The Brewery Lifeguard

It is right at the top of the Wassenaar dunes by the sea with views over the surrounding dunes, beach and sea. There are also a large terrace

Outdoor Terrace

Below picture taken from Brasserie de Badmeester facebook page taken during winter 2010. I think it’s super cool! Can you feel the different feel? With and without snow.

Brasserie de Badmeester during Winter!

Lunch Menu!

I particularly took a picture of my lunch because I love this typical dutch soup so much I wanna learn how to cook them! Already booked for cooking lesson with Nelly! It is called the Erwtensoep met Roggerbrood en spek, translated in english it means Pea Soup with bread and Bacon. Yum! Now check it out…

Pea

Pea Soup with Bread and Bacon

It also amaze me how crowded the lifeguard restaurant was! So who really cares about the cold? No one really cares if there is a nice restaurant just next to a beautiful beach.

After lunch, we head straight to the beach. Jos had suggested to walk against the wind and that almost froze my ears! Good thing it is still there after the walk. Well, despite that, the walk was really nice.

When we spotted a lady riding on a horse, I’d immediately picturing myself doing the same. It is just too cool! As it was too cold, I’d insisted for Jos to help me snapped a picture. That explains the quality if the below picture… 😀 Nah, I’m joking!

Too Cool! 😀

Look at the amount of people! Crazy like us! 😛

Beautiful Seagulls on the beach

The Great Big Ocean

The walk wasn’t exciting but I enjoy every bit of the little things I see around us, I enjoyed watching families walking in groups with children running around them, couples hugging to keep warm, Dogs running into the sea and back all wet! Such scene warms the heart. And me, I have my hands in the pocket of Jos jeans so to keep warm, ear wrapped with Jos’ shawl in case it dropped off… While typing this, I’m already picturing the same scene I saw while I was there.

Us at the Beach ❤

There are many things I would never have done if I’ve not met Jos. This is one! To the beach, wrapped with coat, jeans, boots and shawl! The adventure with him has never been a boring one. That is of course not the only reason why I love him! But yes, it’s been really an adventure that I can write a book as thick as Harry Potter just before the day I die.

Leave a Reply

