There is no World without Verona Wall.

I’ve been really busy of late trying to finish up a scrapbook that I’m presenting to Jos as a Christmas Present. And each page brings my mood up higher because of the many flashes of memory that every single photo brought back.

One of the pages on the scrapbook that I’d particular like was a page I did on our trip toVeronalast summer. It had brought back so many memories and I’d thought I should blog about it in this post.

I have always been a fan of Shakespeare and his popular play on Romeo & Juliet. I’d been so crazy over the way it is written that I can recite most of the popular sayings of the play. Sometimes, I’d even use the way it’s being said during my conversation with friends for fun. Romeo & Juliet was written based onVerona. As such, I’ve always dream about visitingVerona.

Some years ago, I’ve also watched a movie – Letters to Juliet, starring Amanda Seyfried, I love the movie so much, I told myself I’m definitely going to visitVeronasome day, one day. I even spoke to one of my Italian friend about it. So can you imagine my joy when Jos said we were going toVeronalast summer? It was like the best present he ever gave me. Its like a dream come true!

Although I’ve blog about how disappointed I was when I realize that the Juliet’s Garden in Verona isn’t really the real balcony the play was written on, I was still determine to see Juliet’s Balcony for whatever it takes. 

The day trip toVerona Town was one beautiful one. The weather was at its high of 34 degrees Celsius, hot and sunny with a light cool breeze. We parked the car at one of the parking garage, put on our sunglasses and hat (ok, just mine hat) and take a stroll with a map in hand.Italyis such a beautiful country, the minute our car lays its wheel onto the Italian ground; I awed at every angle the beauty of the historic architectures and the natural beauty of the scenery. I did not stop snapping on my camera to make sure I capture the beauty my eyes set on so that the memory will stay with me forever. 

The first popular spot we walked past was Ponte Pietra, which is Italian for Stone Bridge. It is also known as the oldest bridge inVerona which symbolizes the history of the city. Ponte Pietra has been destroyed several time by floods and rebuilt time and time again. Today, the bridge looks steady and glorious and definitely did not lose its beauty.

 

We walked on to the many beauty of the city which can clearly only be describe with pictures. So here are more pictures for your viewing 😀

What was really exciting was walking towards verona town which is where Juliet’s Balcony is located. We’d walked through a crowded town with loads of tourist searching for the sign that says Romeo and Juliet. During that time, I’ve also observe the surrounding, there were many branded names along the street. And there is one thing I realise that there is always more than one Gelato shop along the way. You see one and you will see another right at the opposite corner. I guess that’s only because Italian Gelato are too good to refuse. There are always a queue waiting to get a cup of gelato and it is truely worthwhile waiting. So why would we refuse one?

Besides the many shops along the way, I happen to see also beggars in some corners. One of which that strikes me was a pregnant lady running from people to people with a picture of her other 2 children at home with her hands stretching out. Such scene always gives me a sad feel.

Next we arrived at the Juliet’s Garden. Packed with tourist and maybe really not what I’d expect but it does look exactly the same as the one in the movie – Letters to Juliet. I enjoyed every bit of my time there.

I’d really enjoyed my 30mins stay there. You cann only feel the same if you visit it yourself. The next event that we’d plan was The Arena of Verona for our 1st Opera together and yes it’s one best experience ever.

La travita was the Opera we were going to watch. I’d prefer Romeo and Juliet but that will only be play in August. So we had to miss that one. 

I’ve never attended an opera and had thought it must be really grand and I had to wear something formal. To my surprise, the arena is like a big stadium, open spaced and free seating. We bought dinner from a shop nearby and was going to do picnic in the stadium. That was like so exciting.

The grand Arena!

 

Me at the Arena.

 

Look at the Crowd!

Although I did not understand the saprono singing but I’ve bought a book that translate the play in English for my understanding. The setting was grand and totally enchanting despite us not understand abit of the language, yet also the music was really pleasing. Jos was going to get me a CD of the full music play. So I’m still waiting.
 
The opera was really long, money well spent! 😀 We left the show earlier as we were afraid we might have problem finding our car since we need to walk back to the garage in the dark. But then again, it was already 12 mid night. So it isn’t really early.
 
I can only say, the experience was one romantic and lovely one. Thanks to my very sweet boyfriend! xx
 
Leave a Reply

